About us

The Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250)

The Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250), established by the General Assembly in 2020, serves to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the American Revolution, the Revolutionary War, and the independence of the United States in the Commonwealth of Virginia, one of the former colonies and future states, where much of the nation’s history took place. The primary goal of the Commission is to convene and facilitate a Commonwealth-wide commemoration and celebration, multi-faceted and inclusive of hundreds of partners and representatives of the wide array of histories, sites, stories, and communities that define Virginia.

At the local level, this commemoration is coordinated by city and county committees. The Newport News VA250 Committee was established in 2023. Its members are:

Anne Miller, Superintendent of Historic Services, Newport News Parks and Recreation (Committee chair)
Robin Boyd, Senior Marketing Coordinator, Newport News Department of Development
Sheri Shuck-Hall, Ph.D., Professor of History, Director, Public History Center, Christopher Newport University
Luisa A. Vázquez-López, Senior Director of Advancement, The Mariners’ Museum and Park

Planning for Newport News commemorative programs and events is in its early stages. If you have comments, questions, or suggestions, please email nnhistoricsites@nnva.gov. For more information about VA250, visit http://www.va250.org.